Turbo v/s Supercharged?

Fubar

Totally ****** Up
Mark II Lifetime
Le Mans 2010 Supporter
Aug 2, 2006
Dallas, TX
I often visit another car forum to learn more about my daily driver. I have been reading a discussion on this other forum about turbos and SC'd cars. Everyone there is in general agreement that a turbo'd cars will make more torque than a SC'd cars on the same engine (making similar HP numbers).

It was my understanding that SC'd car made power quickly (instantly) and therefor could make it earlier in the powerband... whereas a turbo had to "wind-up" but was much more efficient at higher RPMs. What gives?

Kirby Vieira

GT Owner/B.o.D
Mark IV Lifetime
Sep 22, 2005
Atlanta
I'm no expert, but personal experience with SC and TT's supports your comment. I've always thought a small shot of nitrous installed to only spray at lower rpms would spool up the turbos quicker and eliminate that shortcoming. :cheers

MAD IN NC

Proud Owner/ BOD blah bla
Mark IV Lifetime
Feb 14, 2006
North Carolina
great Kirby, now you add nitrous to the picture :rofl...........

Question I ask is what is the end goal? To be launched to the moon?

........if so, Torrie's Hellion fits the bill - SC performance of a whipple to ~ 2.5k rpm's then turbo blast from there to all 1,100 HP in under 4K RPM.

tmcphail

GT Owner/Vendor
Mark IV Lifetime
Apr 24, 2006
St Augustine, Florida
I am going to put together a good write up on this shortly and show the pro's and con's of the SC / TT / TTSC setups I have gone through for you guys.

But as Mike asked to start you have to ask yourself what you want out of your vehicle.

nota4re

GT Owner
Mark IV Lifetime
Le Mans 2010 Supporter
Feb 15, 2006
Everyone there is in general agreement that a turbo'd cars will make more torque than a SC'd cars on the same engine (making similar HP numbers).