New GT owner

John Weires

GT Owner
Oct 20, 2009
Hi everybody,
I just recently took delivery of a 2005 Red GT with all four options that I bought from Shelby at Elite Auto's. I took a 10.5 hour road trip from Des Moines to Jonesboro, AR to see his store. It was fun to see seven or eight GT's all in one room. He was cordial, very knowledgeable and not pushy. It took me a night or two to make my decision. I elected to get a clear bra, pulley and tune and Heffner exhaust which Shelby installed. It was transported to me with out incident with 1590 miles on it. Last four digits of VIN are 1744 and I am the 2nd owner. It looks like a new car.

For comparison purposes....I've got some experience on the track with my 2001 Lingenfelter 427 Corvette Z06 (500 RWHSP) with all kinds of DRM chassis and general track modifications. At under 3200 lbs and with 3:90 gears it is very fast. A few years ago I ran against a stock GT on the track and was slightly faster on the straights but probably nearer even on the corners. Just a couple of seconds ahead difference on a three mile track (BIR at Brainerd, MN). With the mods the GT clearly has more pulling power across the whole RPM range than the Corvette as well as the traction to put the power down below say 60 mph where the Corvette just spins the tires. I'm really sold on the mid engine design for a two seat car. It's drive-ability, comfort and stability at triple digit speed greatly outclasses the Corvette. It's styling has every one stares to the point where I worry about causing an accident. What a thrill to drive and like no other car I've been in!

HeritageBruce

GT Owner
Mark II Lifetime
Mar 13, 2006
Southern CA
Let me to be the first to welcome you to the forum. Yeah the GT is that good, but would be even better with a Whipple and adjustable shocks.

RALPHIE

GT Owner
Mar 1, 2007
Welcome to the Forum - you 'll find a lot of very nice people here, and a lot of knowledge with respect to the Ford GT. :thumbsup

:cheers

BlackICE