P.S. A podium finish could have been lost, because some position lights weren't working? Double wtf?
Well Gary, Paul presents a good explanation above on your “Double wtf” on the Ferrari podium finish. For car identification at night, the rules state your car number and the marker position lights (indicating P1, P2 or P3 position in the car running order) must be functional. TWO of the FGTs were black flagged during the evening hours because their car number illumination was not functioning. Ford brought the cars in, fixed the signage illumination and resumed the race. A rule is a rule.As for the issue with the #82 Ferrari, it wasn't simply a marker light, it's the fact that the Risi team ignored a flag to make the repair. Under the rules, this clearly would have resulted in a disqualification had race officials chosen not to ignore the infraction.
When the early morning protest on the #82 Ferrari’s marker lights was made, the race officials for some reason waited over 10 HOURS before imposing the black/orange flag requiring the Ferrari to come to the pits and fix the position lights. This flag was ignored by the Ferrari team.
Because of the refusal to pit, the sanctioning body assessed a pit drive-through penalty against the #82 Ferrari. This too was ignored by the team yet at the end of the race the three Ferrari drivers stood on the podium at second place.
Yep, Double wtf?:confused