To do or not to do - Alcantara Seats?

550rwhp

GT Owner
Nov 6, 2012
North of Dallas, Texas
I am contemplating having my seats done in alcantara. I know Steve at Knights Upholstery is the go to guy and have been talking to him about this project. He did my parking brake boot and steering wheel in alcantara with red piping and happy with both.

I was wondering, if you have the alcantara seats, do you love them? Any regrets or issues with them?

Thanks

Ed Sims

GT Owner
Mark IV Lifetime
Apr 7, 2006
NorCal
I am not a fan of Alcantara but it sure looked nice in the interior of Shelby's GT.

Ed

fjpikul

GT Owner
Mark IV Lifetime
Le Mans 2010 Supporter
Jan 4, 2006
Belleville, IL
I don't know how it reacts to rain, but my leather has held up superbly. Perhaps you don't drive in the rain, but I have no knowledge of how it holds up in the long run.

FBA

GT Owner
Dec 5, 2010
31.022340° N / 44.846191° W
I have them in my Huracan Performante and would have paid more NOT To have them, but it wasn't an option. They suck...and wear badly too. Can't believe people have to pay more for that garbage.

AJB

GT
Mark II Lifetime
Le Mans 2010 Supporter
Jun 28, 2006
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
one word for me....when you can afford it.....Leather.

andy (ajb)

ChipBeck

GT Owner
Staff member
Mark IV Lifetime
Le Mans 2010 Supporter
Feb 13, 2006
Scottsdale, Arizona
The center section of my NFGT seats are Alcantara. I wanted all leather but Ford wouldn't do it in all black leather unless I ordered a Heritage GT. I like the look of that material but it absorbs spills and stains easier than leather in addition to not wearing as well. The combination of black leather and dark grey Alcantara in my GT looks great but if it ever looks worn or gets stained I'm going to replace it with black leather. Ford did offer black leather to replace the Alcantara on the steering wheel and I did that.

That's just one guy's opinion though. If you like it, buy it. You only live once.

Chip

stuntman

GT Owner