The delivery.

ChipBeck

GT Owner
Staff member
Mark IV Lifetime
Le Mans 2010 Supporter
Feb 13, 2006
Scottsdale, Arizona
When I bought my car it was in Houston so I flew my Glasair III out from Scottsdale and a nice looking female dealership employee picked me up at the Sugarland Airport. My yellow GT was "looking good" in the service stall and I was giving it my best - this is no big deal, Joe COOL - demeanor as I slipped into the driver’s seat to inspect my new ride. Ah yes.....the sales babe is obviously impressed and she probably thinks I'm a professional race car driver! With about half of the dealership's employees standing around the GT and this young lady looking on from the passenger’s seat I proceeded to slam the door shut on the top of my head, nearly blacking out as the top edge of that door struck the side of my head, pinching my hair in the door seam and ripping it out by the roots as I instinctively recoiled away from that savage blow that left me with an instant reverse MOHAWK. The intense pain was amplified as my passenger shrieked, "Oh my god, your hair is stuck in the roof, does that hurt"?!?! I could feel my coolness draining away rapidly. Determined to salvage any shred of dignity that remained, I said, "No problem darlin".....and then proceeded to swing the door open and jauntily stepped out....slamming my forehead into the corner of the door with such force that it drove me to my hands and knees. "Oh my god, are you all right?" my saleslady gasped as she rushed to my aid. "I'm pretty sure Dan Gurney didn't do this" I was thinking as my hair drifted down from the top edge of the door. I struggled to clear my head and regain my vision. The dealership's General Manager had witnessed this entire spectacle and the look on his face told me that his enthusiasm for letting this out of state "hot shot" test drive their only Ford GT had noticeably diminished. Christ, this has to be some kind of a record. I've already had two serious injury accidents and