Massive Power Loss Whipple Gt

gtkurt

GT Owner
Mark IV Lifetime
Nov 25, 2006
Scottsdale, Arizona
Today in sunny Arizona I experienced a massive power loss in my GT. It has been around 100 degrees here today. I was racing around with a friend with a modded GT2 and after some hard driving it was total obvious something was wrong. When I floored it it was almost like the car was bogging or the clutch or the supercharger belt were slipping. Does any one know what was happening? Does the GT's computer pull timing when it senses hot air?

My GT has the following mods.
Whipple with 23lb pulley all though I only make 21lb (no exhaust restriction)
Accufab Throttle Body
Stainless Works Headers No cats No muffler
Spec clutch
Trans axle cooler
Twin Kenne Bell boost a pumps
109 unleaded fuel
SCT custom tune
Kitchen sink:lol

I would appreciate any help. This is a very embarrassing situation.
Thanks Kurt

BlackICE

GT Owner
Nov 2, 2005
SF Bay Area in California
I am not an expert by any means, but if it was running fine for some time then the engine got hot (lets say 220-240 F) range and the power was way down. It could be the tune yanking out a lot of timing due to the heat. If the power came back after the car when cooled down this is probably it. Ask the person that tuned the car at what temperature does the timing get dialed back and to what extent.

100 in AZ is hot!

You may get better overall performance at a lower boost with the same high octane gas. That would allow the tuner to leave more timing in due to the safety factor of the lower boost with 108. Maybe go two size down to the 19 psi pulley. If will still leave a GT2 behind if the timing doesn't get reduced.

Last edited:

everetto

GT Owner
Sep 4, 2006
Desert Southwest
Did it return to "normal" later? Or have you driven it again since?

barondw

GT Owner
Sep 8, 2005
Kurt