spectator -- how did you do it??

Musclecar67

Oct 29, 2006
How did you do it?

I'm 2o years old and car crazy. I'm in college and don't know what I want to do lol. Bottom line is I have expensive taste .... lol, I want to be happy in what I do ,but my dream garage (primary hobby) consists of a 427 Shelby Cobra, and The Ford Gt.... = big $$ so im a bit lost. If you don't mind me asking how did you guys do it ?! What do you do for a living ? I am a desperate college student hungry for knowledge :cheers thanks for everything I wish you all the best of travels and be safe! ~ Rob C.

dan

GT Owner
Oct 19, 2006
Rob
My guess is half the people that own a gt can pay out of petty cash for the car. The other half works month to month to do it.
How do you do it? Take it from someone who is 40 and owns more cars than fingers (Yes I have all my fingers). You work for it. Life is not about how much money you make but how much you keep. I run 4 different businesses and none are even closely related. I do not make allot on each business but all combined I make it work. You need to look at everything as an investment, not just the things you buy but the things you do.
I lived with my parents until the day I got married. It has been a while since I did the math but as I remember I saved about 1200 each month after taxes. That works out to $14,400 yearly, about 18000 before taxes or about $8.65 an hour working 40 hours per week. How much do you make per hour and how much do you spend on drinks?
I work allot more than 40 and will do almost anything to make money, not because I have bills to pay but because I love making the money. If you are the type that wants to get up and go to work Monday to Friday 9-5 and watch tv the rest of the time then it is my opion that you will never live your automotive dream.