Looking for Advice?

Dakota 1960

May 15, 2022
Quad Cities Iowa
Is anyone on the forum in the Midwest? Actually the Quad Cites? I am new to Ownership and just looking for advice in caring and owning one for the long term. Thanks in advance. Steve

twobjshelbys

GT Owner
Jul 26, 2010
Las Vegas, NV
Nothing special. It's a Ford. No rocket science. Very easy to work on yourself.

Goodyear tires are best replaced by Bridgestones. Search for Tires in the forum for many discussions.

My experience is Ford thinks highly of service items. I got oil from Rock Auto. Actual parts I ordered from Tasca since their discounted price plus shipping was always less than what the dealer charged.

Gauges are problematic and will fail randomly. Small gauges are replaced from Autometer (drop in with new innards). Large gauges can now be rebuilt. An alternate is an entire new panel from Speedhut.

PeteK

GT Owner
Mark II Lifetime
Apr 18, 2014
Kalama, Free part of WA State
Welcome to the Forum. This is far and away the best place to find information and service on the Ford GT. The people who participate here include a few of the engineers and technicians who worked on the development of the GT, as well as those who have modified them to run at (even more) extreme speeds and make replacement parts and accessories.

Before starting a new thread, use the search function, because in the past 17 years the topic almost certainly has been addressed previously. Often, Google search is better at finding that information in this forum than the native search function here.

What did you buy, what’s the provenance of it, and what will you do with it? Put your location in your profile and post pics too. “If you don’t have pictures, it didn’t happen.”

Last edited:
Reactions: dshears

Blue/white 06'
Mark II Lifetime
Had to Bing the quad cities. Davenport/Moline, right? I mean, that’s not in one of the Dakotas.

Agree with Pete. Pictures or it didn’t happen.

Dakota 1960

May 15, 2022
Quad Cities Iowa