Anyone thought about changing axle ratio?

AZGT

GT Owner
Mark IV Lifetime
Dec 20, 2005
Scottsdale, AZ.
With the discussions about improving performance through mufflers, pulleys, and chips, has anyone discussed with the shops the possibility of a rear axle ratio change (or if it can even be done)? That would be a significant modification that would not be an engine warranty issue (no, I'm not a lawyer so don't sue me).

In the street war days, that was the first thing we did. The 3:73 was real common as was 4:11, and lower were often seen. My last was 4:88 with the Chevy wide ratio (2:56 first). Even ran 5:38 for a while, but that was start in third gear, or pull stumps with first (in a car with Hilborne injected L-88 427 - did not have many people take a second ride). 6:17s or something like that were even around.

Anyway, the GT has a 2:61 first and a 3:36 rear. Seems like 3:70 or somewhere around there would be a blast. Would loose some top end, but ........ can't say I'm looking to drive 200 anyway, and I sure would enjoy the acceleration. You could also "run through the gears" more. Anytime I put my foot in it now, it is only 1 - 2. By the time I'm going to third, it is time to shut down. Takes a little of the fun away, though naturally I am a trooper and will suffer through.

The kick that the car has now with 3:36 is phenomenal, 4:11 would pull your eyes from the sockets. :ack

Just a thought.

SuperB

Board of Directors/Owner
Mark IV Lifetime
Feb 8, 2006
South Florida
I don't really like all the shifting, that was the thing I didn't like about porche.
I like keeping her in a gear below good fuel economy so I can punch it anytime I want without shifting. Helps a lot with getting around all the snowbirds here in Florida.

AZGT

GT Owner
Mark IV Lifetime
Dec 20, 2005
Scottsdale, AZ.
centerpunch said:
We had a huge thread on this last fall, I thought lowering the final drive would be a big improvement, too, until I did the detailed analysis.