New member with lots of Q's about a car I bid on EBay, with Salvage title

PeteK

GT Owner
Mark II Lifetime
Apr 18, 2014
Kalama, Free part of WA State
Hey guys (and from the threads, it looks like you're all guys), I'm a new member and have a bunch of questions regarding your favorite car. I've been lurking for a few months and reading the great information here, but just registered last week. I'm re=posting this message from a thread on straightening a chassis in which I originally posted it.

I was the high bidder on a GT on Ebay last Friday. It was the red one in Miami, with a salvage/rebuilt title. I'm looking for your collective wisdom on buying this car, or buying a GT in general. I want some advice on what to look for on this car to make sure it was correctly repaired. I have a lot of experience working on cars, so I am not put off by things that I can fix myself, but I am not very good at bodywork--that's a real skill and art.

Here is some additional info: The car was wrecked in 2010 in California, then sold through a dealer/insurance auction site. The current owner says he had it repaired, and he's owned it for 3 years, so that means he probably was the buyer at that auction. He says he had it shipped to Panama (he is from Panama) and then back to the US. At first he said it was repaired in the US, then he said it was repaired in Panama. His written english is not very good, so it's hard to make out the exact chronology.

However, I am proceeding with caution, since his written communications to me were not clear.

The VIN is 1fafp90s05y400540. Here is the link to the site that auctioned it in 2010:

http://www.autobidmaster.com/carfind..._SAN_DIEGO_CA/