GT Owner
Staff member
Mark IV Lifetime
Le Mans 2010 Supporter
Feb 13, 2006
Scottsdale, Arizona
Gimme another case of gauges!

Gentlemen,

For the first two years I owned my Ford GT I did not keep it on any type of charger whatsoever and I never had any problems despite letting it sit sometimes for more than a month without starting it. One day I inadvertently left it with the ignition on for several days and drained the original battery to what I thought would be certain and complete death. To my surprise, that original battery charged right back up and I have been using it now for an additional two years. This last two years I have kept my car on a battery tender all the time. Six months ago my fuel gauge failed. Luckily, all of the gauges for the Ford GT are plentiful and cheap! :ack :bored

Chip

Last edited:

Kayvan

GT Owner
Jul 13, 2006
I dont want to do a "No" or "Drive Often" b/c 90+% will be in that category.

Want to zero in on exact breakdown among the 2-3% that are having this issue; as the dozen gauge failure posts in 2009 seem to have some common elements:

-Car sitting/storage
-chargers failing
-Battery issues
-Frame attachment point / sanding needed

We should have min 12 votes and maybe 24, as thats how many thread starts I counted since 2007

Last edited:

FM99

GT Owner
Mark IV Lifetime
Mar 4, 2008
Iowa
I keep the charger on when ever she is home. The gas gauge is sometimes funky for about an hour after fueling, otherwise, so far no problems.

PL510*Jeff

Mark IV Lifetime
Le Mans 2010 Supporter
Nov 3, 2005
Renton, Washington
no useage of any charger and NO gauge issues.:thumbsup

I say again----Get 'em outta the garage and drive them. Often.

I know, I know it's winter, and certain areas it's a must that the cars go into 6 months of hibernation.

Empty Pockets

ex-GT Owner
Mark IV Lifetime
Le Mans 2010 Supporter
Oct 18, 2006
Washington State
no useage of any charger...