TACH Stopped working

dandaman

GT Owner
Apr 8, 2007
Tyler, Tx
I have a friend that has 800 miles on his 05 GT. His tack stopped working and I was wondering if there was a electronic sending unit that works the tack that could have possibly went out or is it the Tach itself? I have sanded the Neg battery cable area that mounts to the car. Any other ideas?
Thank you!

beckertb

GT Owner
Nov 29, 2006
Beaumont, TX
I'm by no means an expert, but the gauges are regarded in our cars as being anything but reliable. There are many many documented failures. Do a quick search on the forum under gauge failure and you will see. You have 2 options--replace it with another OEM gauge with questionable reliability or swap it/the entire cluster for speedhuts.

Empty Pockets

ex-GT Owner
Mark IV Lifetime
Le Mans 2010 Supporter
Oct 18, 2006
Washington State
Most here will suggest (as above) that he just replace the whole instrument cluster with Speed Huts...since the whole 9 yards costs about what the OEM tach alone will cost...and he'll have no more gauge failures to worry about. :thumbsup :cheers

I'm not aware of anyone who hasn't had to replace their tach if it did NOT "come to life" after cleaning the ground and/or trickle charging the battery. If your friend hasn't done the latter yet, he might give that a try first. But, if 'charging also fails, it's likely new gauges time.

BlackICE

GT Owner
Nov 2, 2005
SF Bay Area in California
98% chance it is the OEM tach.

Blue/white 06'
Mark II Lifetime

fordgtkwt

GT Owner
Mar 7, 2010
Japan
mine does stop working when i had a nearly dead battery , try replacing the battery with a new one i suggest optima , it works perfectly now

fordgtkwt

GT Owner
Mar 7, 2010
Japan
did*

Black GT

GT Owner
Mark II Lifetime
Jan 2, 2006
Lucky I have over 10 k on my 05, and no gauge failures yet. I did have my gas gauge not work, replaced battery now all good.

Mullet

FORD GT OWNER
Le Mans 2010 Supporter
Oct 21, 2008
Houston Texas