Newbie here for advice on GT purchase.

Doctr V

GT Owner
Mar 16, 2010
Pennsylvania
Hello all, been reading on the forum for @ 3 months and doing research and the time has come to pull the trigger. With the help of GTDrummer and Shelby Im putting an offer in on a car near south carolina tmrw. The one im interested in is a low mileage white 05 with all the options. The only catch is that the car has a ford cat back exhaust on it for a louder tone. And the original comes with the car as well. Is this something that I should be worried about as a modification and does anyone have one of these. Thanks Dr V

jaxgt

GT Owner
Mark IV Lifetime
Jul 12, 2006
Enjoy the exhaust. If you got a stock exhaust, you'd probably change it anyway. The fact that it is coming with the stock one gives you an option.
Make sure you get a thorough PPI.

FlorIdaho Chris

Yeah, I've got one.
Mark IV Lifetime
Le Mans 2010 Supporter
Hello all, been reading on the forum for @ 3 months and doing research and the time has come to pull the trigger. With the help of GTDrummer and Shelby Im putting an offer in on a car near south carolina tmrw. The one im interested in is a low mileage white 05 with all the options. The only catch is that the car has a ford cat back exhaust on it for a louder tone. And the original comes with the car as well. Is this something that I should be worried about as a modification and does anyone have one of these. Thanks Dr V

A number of us run this cat back muffler. It is supplied by Ford Racing. Nothing to worry about. With the stock muffler in hand you have the best of both worlds. My advice is to keep the stocker in the closet and enjoy the extra rumble!

However, if you decide you don't want the louder muffler you should have no problem selling it.

Enjoy your new GT.

Last edited:

shelbyelite

PERMANENTLY BANNED
May 10, 2007
Doctr V, have we talked? I don't remember talking about this.....
Anyway, I agree with the other comments made on here.

Doctr V

GT Owner