My first HPDE with my FGT. Need Advice.

Johnneymax

GT Owner
Oct 31, 2011
New Jersey
Hi,

I am entering my first NASA HDPE 1 event in NJ at the end of this month with my FGT. I am a novice. I had tires, brakes, exhaust, transaxle cooling, 5 point seat belts, fire extinguisher, and air flow work done to my GT by Ida Automative.

I have a brand new helmet and Hans device. (Is a Hans device overkill?)

What type of numbers should I run on the FGT? I was thinking static.

Do I need to bring filters, oil, etc?

Any advice on what to expect or items I should bring would be very much appreciated. I am an absolute beginner and welcome any feedback.

Regards,

John

RPM217

2005 white/blue stripe
Jun 18, 2010
Rye Brook, New York
Hi,

I am entering my first NASA HDPE 1 event in NJ at the end of this month with my FGT. I am a novice. I had tires, brakes, exhaust, transaxle cooling, 5 point seat belts, fire extinguisher, and air flow work done to my GT by Ida Automative.

Any advice on what to expect or items I should bring would be very much appreciated. I am an absolute beginner and welcome any feedback.

Regards,

John

Tums

Indy GT

Yea, I got one...too
Mark IV Lifetime
Jan 14, 2006
Greenwood, IN

John
Hi John,
"Numbers", "static"? Like ah, rpm, engine temperatures, octane, MPH, pressures, lap times, etc, etc. What do you mean? There are a number of numbers associated with the FGT.

Filters and oil----NO.

Actually when I started HPD in the FGT as a novice (probably still am) the car in stock, as delivered form, wayyyyy exceeded my driving ability. The OE tires and brakes are certainly reasonable for this caliper supercar. Not that they cannot be improved upon which many have done, but the as delivered components are certainly adequate for a beginning HPD participant. Just riding around the track with Ford development drivers McGowan (Tier IV) and Martindale in an OE Ford GT can certainly show you how much performance Ford put into the car.