Garage 4 Post Car Lifts

69RS/SS

Dec 20, 2009
I live in the Chicago area and this spring will be building a new 4 car garage and installing a 4 post car lift. At some point in 2010 I will also be looking to purchase a GT to add to what I already have.

I am looking at a Bend Pak HD-9 as my choice of lifts. I do not know EXACTLY how much width the GT takes up from one real wheel to the other but the HD-9 has runways that are adjustable with low approach ramps to accomodate the low 5" clearance of the GT.

If any of you could shed light on this lift or other equipment that you might be using I would appreciate your input. I am not a mechanic just a do it yourselfer and an enthusiast so my needs are not all that great.

I sure am looking forward to the completion of this small project by the middle of June so that I can seek out the GT that I will be looking for!

Empty Pockets

ex-GT Owner
Mark IV Lifetime
Le Mans 2010 Supporter
Oct 18, 2006
Washington State
According to the spec sheet:

Rear track = 63.7"

Front track = 63.0"

Wheelbase = 106.7"

TOTAL WIDTH = *76.9"*

* For some reason I seem to remember my FGT measured slightly more than that "mirror tip to mirror tip" when I measured it. :shrug

BlackICE

GT Owner
Nov 2, 2005
SF Bay Area in California
I have a HD-9 wide version, with the ramps set at the wide setting the car fits really nice (about 4" extra room on each side of the rear tires). The narrow version may work as well if you don't have the space but the mirrors may be very close to the posts.

Superfly

HERITAGE GT OWNER
Mark II Lifetime
Jun 23, 2008
Edmonton, Alberta