wich tire on a wet track day ?

willem

Ford GTX-1 Owner
Mar 22, 2009
The Netherlands
I ordered a set of hoosier R6 today,but what tires do I use on a rainy day on the track?? the OEM GY??? thanks in advance Willem

Mullet

FORD GT OWNER
Le Mans 2010 Supporter
Oct 21, 2008
Houston Texas
Hoosier Radial Wet?

I have no experience with wet track tires.

willem

Ford GTX-1 Owner
Mar 22, 2009
The Netherlands
there are no 19 inch in radial wet

PL510*Jeff

Mark IV Lifetime
Le Mans 2010 Supporter
Nov 3, 2005
Renton, Washington
I ordered a set of hoosier R6 today,but what tires do I use on a rainy day on the track?? the OEM GY??? thanks in advance Willem

stick with the stock Goodyears--it's a pretty good wet tire.

Fast Freddy

GPS'D 225 MPH
Mark II Lifetime
Aug 5, 2005
Avondale, Arizona
personally i would never track my GT in the wet. it's not worth taking the risk of a wreck imo....

soroush

Ford Gt Owner
Mark II Lifetime
Aug 8, 2007
personally i would never track my GT in the wet. it's not worth taking the risk of a wreck imo....

+1

ChipBeck

GT Owner
Staff member
Mark IV Lifetime
Le Mans 2010 Supporter
Feb 13, 2006
Scottsdale, Arizona
The best track tires for the Ford GT in the rain are the ones on your tow vehicle. Load your GT back into it's trailer, and leave the track. Flogging a GT in the wet may make sense if you have travalled 2000+ miles to get to a track you will probably never visit again so you can say you drove it, but as a general rule you would be better off skipping it. Unlike the modern Mustang with it's amazing electronic stability and traction control, the GT is nanny free save for antilock brakes. If you biff it however, the Ford GT does offer $3800 headlights, $9000 fenders, a $28,000 clamshell, and $45,000 subframes for quick easy repairs!

Stick with the trailer tires in the wet.

Chip

Reactions: DRIVEBY

BlackICE

GT Owner
Nov 2, 2005
SF Bay Area in California
Chip you always have a eloquent way with words.

DRIVEBY

GT Owner
Mark II Lifetime