What would you guy do

Jmm24

Jan 15, 2020
What’s up everyone, I joined a few months ago but this is my first time posting.

My Dad passed away in January and I inherited his little car collection and one of the cars is a 2005 4 option Red W/ white stripes GT. The car is in pristine shape and only has 150 miles on it. Everything functions and operates as should, not a mark on anything, the car looks like it just rolled off the showroom floor. It’s currently sitting covered in protected storage.

my question is what would you guys do if put in a similar situation. Would you sell,keep it in its current condition and wait till it appreciates more before selling it or would you just say f it and drive the thing a little bit and enjoy it. I’m 28 y/o, lifelong car guy and currently don’t “need” the money but can’t say it wouldn’t help either

twobjshelbys

GT Owner
Jul 26, 2010
Las Vegas, NV
This is just my opinion. If you're not going to drive it (which I would highly encourage, first choice), I would sell it (second choice). The appreciation curve is topped out. Between now and "then" it's not going to double or triple and you'd be better off cashing out now and investing the money in the stock market. Consider your "standing still" costs of registrations, taxes, and insurance.

Delivery miles cars do best at the auctions. With Covid shutting them down (sure, they may allow attendees but the numbers are still going to be low because people simply won't go like they did a year ago). Given that Bring A Trailer has been getting some really good numbers recently.

Last edited:

Art138

GT Owner
Mark II Lifetime
Jan 4, 2011
Weston,FL
Unless you have a passion for the GT,a garage to keep it in,and factor in that the car needs to be maintained....I would sell. Low mileage cars do well.

B.M.F.

GT Owner
Mark II Lifetime
Jan 29, 2009
Minnesota