Trailer Rental for GT in SoCal - Monterrey Car Week

PilotMarky

Ford GT Team Alumni
Dec 11, 2018
I am starting to work out logistics of car week and getting the GT up there. Would be fun to drive it, but most of the miles would be for nothing and there's zero space for suitcases :)
Anybody know of trailer rentals that are enclosed and have the side door opening around the SoCal area?
I also thought about using Reliable to get the car there and back.
I am sure some of you have done all this before, and it's my first time to do this sort of thing so any advice appreciated!
Thanks in advance!

extrap

GT Owner
Mark II Lifetime
Jul 16, 2020
Gainesville FL
I'm in FL so can't help ... but just got myself a new trailer and all set up to haul my 05's and would've offered to do it. However, actually, I dunno the outside tire width of the NGT, ie how much wider than the FGT it is, so not sure it would fit. My FGTs have 2-1/4" between the outside face of the rear tires and the trailer's fenders. Close but works fine for the FGT. If anybody reads this, please let me know the NGT's rear tires outside width dimension, in case it becomes relevant in the future :)

Oh ... and I bet you're gonna get some razzin' for this: "... most of the miles would be for nothing ..." 😱 😁

Anyway ... good luck! (y)

Reactions: PilotMarky

Specracer

GT Owner
Mark IV Lifetime
Nov 28, 2005
MA
I know a guy in VA that rented a trailer to get to Carlisle (have not seen him in several years). Outside of that one off, I have never ever heard of anyone that has rented a trailer, or anywhere else, that had trailers for rent. Let alone one specialized enough to haul a NGT (you must use over the wheel 3 point tie downs). Good luck, but I think you have an uphill challenge to find what your looking for.

BTW I have a "normal" width enclosed trailers (no escape doors), there is about 1.5" to the wheels from the trailers wheel wells. It fits, but its cozy...

Reactions: extrap

Tomcat

GT Owner