Liquid Victory

dbk

The Favor Factory™
Staff member
Le Mans 2010 Supporter
Jul 30, 2005
Metro Detroit
I don't want to make anyone read a boring novel about this so here's the condensed version. I had been pursuing the idea of a full bare carbon GT since really 2013. Multimatic does a lot of really incredible stuff, but I've always felt that their carbon fiber work on the GT is as at least as good and often better as that of vehicles that are many, many times the price. I know it's cosmetic in nature, but the GT is so defined by this material and the expertise with which the Ford GT program wielded it that I felt the car in bare CF went beyond just building something that looked flashy.

Fast forward to the carbon car being a reality, me and another GT owner had been pursuing some stuff that went outside of the available option range. I've always felt the dual stripes do not suit the carbon car and the single stripe, while nice, unfortunately covers the chevron pattern that MNV works so meticulously to craft. At some point very late in the program, obstacles to these out of range ideas were eliminated and it became reality.

The team at the production facility led by Angus King graciously agreed to take on the additional time and effort to produce the final two Liquid Carbon cars with the addition of the hourglass stripe patten of the Studio Collection Ford GT. And because Alan Eggly is a wizard of paint and color, rather than doing the stripes in typical paint, he worked out the process to do the stripes in visible tinted carbon fiber. And because I'm often very annoying and persistent, the Ford GT Concierge team figured out how to somehow make these requests work inside the constraints of a pretty rigid system.