FJP pussys out

fjpikul

GT Owner
Mark IV Lifetime
Le Mans 2010 Supporter
Jan 4, 2006
Belleville, IL
OK, so this weekend I went to a driving school at Gateway Raceway in Madison, IL (St. Louis). NASCAR track with infield road coarse. I've never done anything like this before. Had four 20 minute sessions scheduled. Very dangerous track with no room for error as there are walls everywhere. First one went fine but slow. Ran on about 1/3 of the NASCAR high banked track and the long straightaway. Second session I went much faster, but others on the track (driving old Mustangs, TransAms, etc) had me worried. Hit 110 on the straight, but instructor wanted me in third the whole time. I did not drive like an idiot, did not push the car hard or the brakes. Instructor then took me out in his Z06 Vette, but had to wait 20 minutes in hot sun in driving gear and black car. Did 4 laps with him and got motion sickness (new to me). Did my third session but didn't finish due to nausea. Did not do the fourth session (disgression is the better part of valor). Still felt bad driving home later. Car handled much better than expected on stock tires and in stock form. Belts and helmet were a new experience (thanks Ed Sims, SafeCraft and Livermore). My hat is off to guys that do this on a regular basis. Next time I'll know better.

STORMCAT

GT
Mark IV Lifetime
Le Mans 2010 Supporter
May 25, 2006
Ft. Lauderdale