Ten Questions with: Jamal Hameedi

dbk

The Favor Factory™
Staff member
Le Mans 2010 Supporter
Jul 30, 2005
Metro Detroit
For round two of the ongoing Ford GT Forum "Ten Questions Series", we're moving on to: Ten Questions with Jamal Hameedi.

Jamal_Hameedi_newsart_72.jpg

Jamal Hameedi was the Program Manager for Ford GT. He's an engineer by trade, and is currently SVT Chief Nameplate Engineer, but his role at Ford GT could best be described as being the hub of the wheel that held together the many spokes of the program.

As a bonus, I let the maintenance guys into Jamal's pad last week so they could fix his hot tub, so we get to play 20 questions. :biggrin

Ford GT Forum (1): Why was the specific engine size selected instead of something
larger?

Jamal Hameedi: The 5.4L architecture was off the shelf (bore and stroke) and there was some history with it from the Cobra R (heads) and the Lightning (forced induction). It was a high confidence solution.

Larger? That displacement can support 1000 hp with forced induction. Plus larger displacement = longer wider engine = more weight. We exceeded our power target with 5.4L so I think going larger would have just increased fuel consumption and weight.

Ford GT Forum (2): Regarding Goodyear Tires: 1) What performance attributes were a) must have b) nice to have and c) don't care one way or the other for the review team? Was, for instance, mud/snow traction actually in the evaluation equation?

Jamal Hameedi: We benchmarked many suppliers (Pirelli, Goodyear, Michelin) and
went with Goodyear. Dry performance, high speed durability, limit handling progressivity and wet performance where the main criteria. There seems to be a hidden question here: "Why did you go with the Goodyears - there are better alternatives out there".