Paint problem caused by Battery Tender

Sinovac

GT Owner
Mark II Lifetime
Jul 18, 2006
Largo, Florida
I am posting this so other owners can avoid the problem I experienced.

I keep my car on a Battery Tender at all times. The cord from the Battery Tender runs over the driver's side fender into the front luggage (ha!) compartment. To keep the cord from marring the paint, I drape a clean microfiber towel over the fender.

After an extended storage, I noticed that where the cord was over the towel the paint was blistering ever so slightly from the bottom up, meaning you could not feel it on the surface of the paint. The blistering was in a line exactly where the cord was. Although I'm no scientist, or some other really intelligent professional, I can only surmise there was some sort of chemical/electrical reaction between the electrical current/paint/aluminum fender/towel. I have never experienced something like this before but this is my first aluminum bodied car. Perhaps it is something unique to the aluminum construction.

I'd be happy to experiment on Rick's car and run some tests if he would be kind enough to bring it over.

Paul

GTNJ

GT Owner
Mark IV Lifetime
Sep 21, 2006
State of Confusion

I keep my car on a Battery Tender at all times. The cord from the Battery Tender runs over the driver's side fender into the front luggage (ha!) compartment. To keep the cord from marring the paint, I drape a clean microfiber towel over the fender.